Orbuculumbeta

Comparative spending

Search and add colleges — or apply a curated preset (Ivy League, Florida SUS, UC System, etc.). Compare what they actually spend money on across the IPEDS functional-expense categories. Each cell leads with dollars per fall-headcount student, with nominal dollars and share of total as secondary context.

Data from IPEDS F1A (public) / F2 (private) filings for fiscal year 2022-23 — the most recent public release with the full functional-expense breakdown. Unlike the Compare fragility page, publics and privates can be mixed here — the two categories with structural F1/F2 asymmetry (Academic Support, Operation & Maintenance of Plant) are simply shown as “—” where not reported.

Curated groups
Selected (1)
BucketCollege of the Marshall Islands
MH · public
1,216 fall HC · FY2023
Total operating expense
$19K/student
$23.3M nominal
Instruction
Faculty salaries, benefits, and department operating costs for credit-bearing instruction.
$2K/student
10.4% of total
$2.4M nominal
Research
Externally- and internally-funded research activities. Grant-funded labs, research centers, staff scientists.
$0
0.0% of total
Public Service
Extension programs, public broadcasting, community outreach. Big for land-grants (agricultural extension), near-zero for most privates.
$0
0.0% of total
Academic Support
Libraries, museums, academic computing, curriculum development, deans' offices. Publics don't break this out separately — it's rolled into Instruction and Institutional Support in GASB.
Student Services
Admissions, registrar, financial aid administration, career services, counseling, student activities, non-varsity intramural.
$358/student
1.9% of total
$436K nominal
Institutional Support
Executive management, HR, finance, legal, IT, general administrative services, PR/development. This is where administrative overhead lives — including enterprise IT.
$242/student
1.3% of total
$294K nominal
Operation & Maintenance
Facilities, utilities, custodial, grounds, maintenance. Privates report this inside Institutional Support under FASB.
$2K/student
11.6% of total
$2.7M nominal
Auxiliary Enterprises
Housing, dining, bookstore, parking, athletics if separately budgeted. Self-supporting operations that charge users.
$8K/student
44.3% of total
$10.3M nominal
Hospital Services
IPEDS 'hospital services' category. At R1s with embedded academic medical centers this is the clinical enterprise. At a small number of institutions without hospitals — NCF is the notable case — this line captures state-required healthcare allocations, student health center operations, or other health expenses that don't fit cleanly into other functional categories. When a small non-medical school shows a non-zero value here, treat it as flagged: check the school's audited financials for what's actually included.
$234/student
1.2% of total
$285K nominal
Independent Operations
Off-mission operations. Includes major medical centers reported separately (Ohio State Wexner, NYU Langone), JPL at CalTech, APL at Johns Hopkins, etc.
$0
0.0% of total
Scholarships & Grant Aid
Institutional grants and scholarships awarded to students — the discount rate applied to sticker price.
$6K/student
29.4% of total
$6.8M nominal
Other operating
Residual operating expenses not fitting the above categories.
$0
0.0% of total
Highest value in each row highlighted in red. “—” = not reported separately for this control type (publics don’t report Academic Support as a distinct F1A line; privates roll O&M of Plant into Institutional Support under FASB). All values from IPEDS F1A (public) / F2 (private) fiscal-year 2022-23, the most recent public IPEDS release with the full functional-expense breakdown.